My Mind

is such

it is barely there

go to the sky

I tell it

and there it stays

days

on some cloud

then back it is here today

with the rain

and the silver train

isn’t it beautiful

I ask myself

the buildings

and there

across the spread

of the city

in the morning

through the myriad maze

of windows

the colours of whites pinks and blues

all standing in a wide semi-circle

making me think of the sea

through the trees

the birds chirping

flying in flocks or singly

in the sky

the people

in the still empty streets

through my house

through the Coleridge biography

I finished

before breakfast

through the newspaper

I read after that

through all that mad horror assailing

through my bath

and finally through the words

of this poem

my mind has come back

to me.

 

The above poem is from my third collection The Branches (2015).

Leave a Reply

